This week a dear friend of mine came all the way to the Eastern Shore to visit me during her spring break.  I had already prepared two posts of my usual four for the week, but when she came up I made my dear friend my priority!

We’ve talked, texted, and followed each other on Facebook, but we hadn’t seen each other in four years.  Like my earlier post this week stated:  Throughout my life friends have come and gone.  Some friends may be far away, but when we get back together, it’s as if no time has passed and we pick right back up where we left off.

That’s how it was this week when Erica came to visit.  We have known each other long enough to have shared both good times and bad.  We’ve supported each other through the years and that’s important in a friendship.

We toured the small, but lovely islands of Chincoteague and Assateague.  We enjoyed some scrumptious ice cream from the famous Island Creamery.  We ate fresh seafood from the Village Restaurant. We got to see some of the famous Chincoteague ponies close up at the Carnival Grounds.  We saw Miss Molly’s Inn where Marguerite Henry stayed while she wrote the classic book, “Misty of Chincoteague.”

We also enjoyed relaxing at my house, catching up on all the hometown news from Roanoke.  We settled in and watched the chick flick, Bridget Jones’s Diary and we spent time reminiscing and laughing about life in general.

Yes, I missed my Thursday’s post, but this is why!  So my spotlight is on the value of my supportive friend, Erica.  She is like a sister to me!

Erica and my kidsPonies on Assateague

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

